All Is Well

It’s been 1 week since my first round of chemo. 

My biggest concern with all of this was that I didn’t want to feel crappy all the time. I was afraid of “chemo brain”. I was afraid of not being able to think clearly and reasonably. I was afraid of becoming depressed. Of losing control of my mental well being. Transient physical discomfort was something that I was prepared for and comfortable with. It’s a small price to pay for a life that I love.

One week later, I can honestly say that I feel pretty “normal”. 

I sat down with Dr. C for a follow up today and told her how it went:

Friday – no big deal

Saturday- Neulasta kicked in and made me sore like I had worked out and my skin was very sensitive.

Sunday- I lost track of the time and took a very important pill about 3 hours late. I was doubled over with abdominal cramping so bad that it made me sick to my stomach… until I remembered to take the damn pill, then I was fine.

Monday- Feeling good (with some stomach weirdness)!

Tuesday- Back at work. Feeling almost normal (with less stomach weirdness)!!

Wednesday- Feeling even better (with even less stomach weirdness)!!!

Thursday- I feel great!

Dr. C said I’m a rock star and that she would like to take me with her all the time to tell other patients that it’s not so bad. It really isn’t that bad. She said it was like I decided to be done with all the side effect nonsense, and my body cooperated. She was even shocked that I haven’t experienced (or noticed) any hot flashes. 

It really is all about perspective. It’s so important to focus on the positive. To keep your face to the sunshine. 

4 thoughts on “All Is Well

  1. There are so many people who love and support Sarah. I have the good fortune of getting to see her quite often (candidly wish it was even more). I must say that she is dealing with cancer like a mild inconvenience. Sarah is doing chemo in typical Sarah style. She is rocking it and looks as beautiful as ever. Today, as we both had appointments, I noticed the sparkle in her eyes, maybe a reflection from her ring but nonetheless, I’m so proud of her passion to push through this and begin the next phase of her life, my daughter-in-law! Damn, I struck gold.

    Like

  2. Woot woot! Yeaaah! Honk honk! Ding dong! Ding dong! Go Sarah, go Sarah! That’s the way uh huh uh huh I like it! Uh huh uh huh! HaPpY dAnCe
    Cart wheel double flip with whip creme and a cherry on top!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

