Hair, Part 3

Tuesday

It all began with a tender spot in the back of my head near where I had my hair tied into a bun. I reached my fingers into my hair and gave a little tug at the root. Still affixed to my scalp. 

Wednesday Morning

The tenderness began to spread. I tamed my bed head and pulled it back into a bun. Still no shedding. Throughout the day I noticed that my body hair was beginning to let go. I could pull out hairs normally requiring a tweezer with just my fingers and a gentle tug. 

Wednesday Night

I took my hair down and ran my fingers through the length. I looked down at my hand to find a small bunch of hairs that had been wrongly displaced. In that moment the hourglass flipped, only I couldn’t see how much sand it held.

Thursday

I woke up with my hair in it’s usually messy state. The beast needed to be tamed. I covered the drain and stuck my head under the bathtub faucet. The water rinsed strands of hair away from my head. I brushed the wet hair back into a bun, where it remained for the rest of the day. Before bed I felt the need to survey the damage, so I took my hair down. I ran my fingers through and through. The shedding never stopped. 

Friday

The scalp tenderness had changed to tingling. I kept my hands off of my hair so not to disturb any of the strands. It needed to stay put for one more day. Saturday would be the day that I would flip the hourglass back over. A timer to the spring, when my hair will be in bloom.

Saturday

Today was one of those days. A day where I got to pull out my list of  “horrible things that cancer causes” and cross off an item with a big black marker. One item closer to putting this whole ordeal behind me. Time to shave my head and take back some control.

I wasn’t horribly sad or anxious. I dealt with those emotions when I cut off the length.  Today was a day of new experiences. It was the first (and last) time I had a mohawk.

Since I was born with a full head of hair, it was the first time I’ve ever been completely bald.

Brian did the close shave.
I have a nicely shaped head!

I also had fun with all of Hilary’s wigs!

Not a bad day… really! Now I get to get acclimated with my baldness, my wig, and my hats. I get to put the worst part behind me and get on with my life.

9 thoughts on “Hair, Part 3

  1. You have the cutest little ears and the shape of your head is adorable!! That Mohawk was Rockin for 20 minutes. You can cross Mohawk off your bucket list as well. I think it was a great day. A day of pushing past the comfort zone and finding even more love there.

    Props to Hilary ninja scissorhands for that AWESOME Mohawk, and Brian’s slow and lovingly careful shaving skills…a joy to watch!

    Like

  2. You are so beautiful. All of the ways. I can’t stop saying it! I felt these photos in my gut. I wish I was there because it looked like there was so much JOY. I saved a bunch to my phone and am going to look again and again.

    Like

  3. I love the smile on your face as you played with all the wigs. You can actually pull off more than you think. Keep your spirits high and fight your fight. You Sarah Smith (can’t wait for you to be Sarah Stichter) are a force to be reckoned with. Love you!

    Like

  4. I love the smile on your face as you played with all the wigs. You can actually pull off more than you think. Keep your spirits high and fight your fight. You Sarah Smith (can’t wait for you to be Sarah Stichter) are a force to be reckoned with. Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

