There was a point in my childhood when I realized that every single person resides within a universe that can only be seen through their eyes. Every feeling, every experience, every connection made is unique to the individual person. I would sit quietly and watch the souls around me navigate their world and think, ‘I wonder what their universe looks like.’

From the outside, I may seem unflappable. I may seem as though I have everything under control. But, inside my shell exists a world where the very ground on which I stand is shifting. I am unsteady. I am afraid to even move incase the ground beneath me will crumble into nothingness. The air is thin and I cannot breathe, though everyone keeps telling me that in my breath I will find some peace.

The weight of the world is piled high upon my shoulders and my knees are fighting the urge to buckle. I wish I could do it all, but I can’t. All I can do is wait for the opportunity to unload some of these burdens. 

Atleast I have my words. I find distraction in the careful puzzles of expression. 

In the meantime, I tell myself:

This too shall pass.

Try to enjoy these moments.

You will soon be able to unload some of these burdens, just hang on a little bit longer.

You can’t do it all, and that’s ok.

6 thoughts on “My Universe

  1. I know how you feel. Some tasks are left unfinished. Some things are put on hold. There’s only so much time in a day. We can only do the best we can do and that’s enough. Sending pillows and comfort and hugs and kitties and all the love you can handle.❤️❤️

    Like

  2. The most useful thing I was told when I was diagnosed was from an older nurse. She said “It isn’t about being stoic or strong, it is about being resilient.” That really helped me to let go of needing to “handle it” all in some specific way. It gave me permission to call in reinforcements, get a massage or take a bath or just cry when I needed to. I know you will find your way forward to whatever is next, breath may come easier with time.
    Sending love and light across the blogosphere
    ❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

